• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tamil
      • Home Country:
      • Sri Lanka
      • Current Location:
      • Spain

Regarding a right use of a word.

Sentence: "Painful to see excellent columnist like him doing acts of fifth columns/fifth columnist in the name of freedom of expression"

My question/doubt: What would be the right choice of word in the above sentence, fifth columns or fifth columnist ?

Thanks

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Regarding a right use of a word.

Hi Razer,
    I'm sorry to say that I don't understand the sentence at all, nor what the fifth column refers to. Is that a common expression where you are? Is there more context you can provide for me?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tamil
      • Home Country:
      • Sri Lanka
      • Current Location:
      • Spain

Context: General discussion, exchanges of views between friends. My friend refers to some newspaper columnist (whom I don't want to mention for some reasons ) who is being accused by his fans of changing his ideological views and support to opposite groups, subtly, through his articles. In reply to him I wanted to say the above sentence so was asking the right word for this sentence.

Meaning of fifth column: A subversive group that supports the enemy and engages in espionage or sabotage; an enemy in your midst

Meaning of fifth columnist: A member of a clandestine subversive organization who tries to help a potential invader

PS: I thought sentence would do without context. So didn't give it. Though I've provided it now but I still feel he same.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location: