Student or Learner
Native Language
Korean
Home Country
South Korea
Current Location
South Korea
Dear teachers / instructors

I'd like to ask a question I've been putting off for many years simply because there was no person around me who would explain it to the extent of my satisfaction. I'm really glad to have found this site because now I can ask this question. (as well as many others I have in my arsenal, but those come later)

Could you tell me what you know about signing off a letter? I've had written several formal and many informal letters in English, and everytime I did so without much knowledge to the format or the proper usage.

I usually use Sincerely, and Regards, in formal letters. Yet I don't have much idea what they mean or imply. Well I know what the words mean when used in sentences, like "Send my best regards to your mom" or "I appreicate your sincere intent to help us". I just shuffle between the two without thinking much when writing a letter, because all I know is that they're used at the end of letters, just before the sender's name. Are there any differences, and if so when and why should I choose one over the other?

For informal letters, I just improvise and use commom greetings such as God bless or take care. These are OK aren't they?

I know there are other ways of signing off, such as Yours Sincerely, Yours Faithfully, Sincerely Yours, Respectfully Yours, Best Regards, Kind Regards, Warm Regards, Best Wishes and Cheers. I bet there are quite a bit more than the mentioned. The problem is I don't know when you use them, especially ones with 'yours'. Why 'Yours'? Sounds like something I'd use only to my lover. (not that I have one :-( )

Would you be kind enough to tell me the available means of signing off a letter, and when and how to use them?

My most sincere gratitude goes to you.

Sincerely,

HaraKiriBlade

Last edited:

HaraKiriBlade

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Korean
Home Country
South Korea
Current Location