[Vocabulary] should I avoid slang and informal language?

Status
Not open for further replies.

JiriLindovsky

Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Czech
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Good afternoon,
I came across this book(A Year In the Life of an ESL by Edward J. Francis).
Everybody says it's a must-have book.
Is it really important to study this book? Or should i avoid informal language?
Should I avoid formal English?

I am studying English for my job, I am collecting marketing information over the web. I am not going to fly to the U.S.A. I try to study for IELTS. English is very rich language. Should I prefer only neutral words, phrases,idioms first? Is it possible? Sure, I don't want speak like a book or William Shakespeare, but where's the border?

For example: I came across "check this out!". I think it's a useful phrase, but many dictionaries avoid it and if not so , it reads "very informal".

Thanks for Your advice,

Jiri

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
Good afternoon,

I am studying English for my job, I am collecting marketing information over the web. I am not going to fly to the U.S.A. I try to study for IELTS. English is very rich language. Should I prefer only neutral words, phrases,idioms first? Is it possible? Sure, I don't want speak like a book or William Shakespeare, but where's the border?

For example: I came across "check this out!". I think it's a useful phrase, but many dictionaries avoid it and if not so , it reads "very informal".

Thanks for Your advice,

Jiri

My personal feeling is that once you are comfortable with using a language, then there's no reason why you shouldn't start to add in slang.