Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thumbs up What would you say..?

Is this situation formed correctly? If yes, what you would say in it?
    "Your cousin offers to go with you to the doctor's, but you can't take him on your own."

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Arabic
      • Home Country:
      • Egypt
      • Current Location:
      • Egypt

Re: What would you say..?

Sorry ,I cant take you on my own.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

What do you mean by "You can't take him on his own"?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

this is what i am asking about ; what does "you can't take him on your own" mean?

if we know the meaning of it, the reply on the situation would be clear and easy.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Quote Originally Posted by omar971 View Post
    this is what i am asking about ; what does "you can't take him on your own" mean?

if we know the meaning of it, the reply on the situation would be clear and easy.
    "You can't take him on his own" doesn't really make any sense. It suggests that you cannot "only take your cousin". Perhaps you have to take your cousin and a friend?! Very confusing.

The beginning of the sentence says "Your cousin offers to go with you to the doctor..." The assumption here is that you must visit the doctor, and your cousin has said "Shall I come with you?"

If the next part was "...but you can't take him on your own" it might make sense. That suggests that perhaps you are too weak to take your cousin, or that your cousin is a small or difficult child and it would be too difficult for you to control him/her on your own.