Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. NarutoDude's Avatar
    Newbie
    Student or Learner
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

    • Join Date: Nov 2009
    • Posts: 25
    #1

    Should've or Should Have?

    Is should've a word? It gets underlined in red in Google Chrome and Word.

  2. 2010's Avatar
    Member
    Interested in Language
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India

    • Join Date: May 2010
    • Posts: 373
    #2

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    Quote Originally Posted by NarutoDude View Post
    Is should've a word? It gets underlined in red in Google Chrome and Word.
    Hi,

    ===Not a teacher===

    Yes, "should've" is contracted form of "Should have"

    It is correct.

    Perhaps, you could try this sentence in "word" (guess you are referring to MS word)

    I should've done it.


    • Join Date: Jun 2010
    • Posts: 3
    #3

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    Yes Should've is a word indeed. but its the short form of Should Have.
    I often use this word in MS Word but it never gets red underline.

  3. BobK's Avatar
    Harmless drudge
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

    • Join Date: Jul 2006
    • Posts: 16,037
    #4

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    Quote Originally Posted by mikinsmith View Post
    Yes Should've is a word indeed. but its the short form of Should Have.
    I often use this word in MS Word but it never gets red underline.
    I think the error that mikinsmith had in mind was 'should of' - which is, unfortunately, quite a common mistake.

    b

  4. Editor, UsingEnglish.com
    English Teacher
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

    • Join Date: Nov 2002
    • Posts: 62,439
    #5

    Re: Should've or Should Have?

    It does get underlined in Google Chrome, but one of the suggestions to correct it is would've, so it's just an oversight on their part. They also underline Google, so their spellcheck does need some work.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •