Question Fair Enough

- When can we use "Fair enough" and why we do not say "OK" or "Allright" ... ?
    Last edited by sh.hazeri; 15-Jun-2010 at 18:19.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

Re: Fait Enough

***neither a teacher nor a native-speaker***

It mostly means that you've found an explanation plausible.

Re: Fait Enough

From a native speaker point of view ?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Fair Enough

Exactly as stated above by euncu.

You might not like it or agree with it, but it's plausible.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

Quote Originally Posted by sh.hazeri View Post
    - When can we use "Fair enough" and why we do not say "OK" or "Allright" ... ?
    In addition to the definitions previously mentioned, "fair enough" can also be used to mean "fine; have it your way" (if you are trying to persuade somebody or show them a better way to get something done and they won't listen).

On a slightly unrelated note, I've found that a lot of native speakers make this mistake: It's "all right", not "allright" and definitely not "alright". Same goes for "never mind" and "a lot" - all of them are made up of two words.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Quote Originally Posted by Score_Under View Post
    In addition to the definitions previously mentioned, "fair enough" can also be used to mean "fine; have it your way" (if you are trying to persuade somebody or show them a better way to get something done and they won't listen).