• Native Language:
      • Spanish
      • Home Country:
      • Argentina
      • Current Location:
      • Argentina

Smile have got

hi
    my teacher told us the other day that HAVE GOT is not longer used in English, after someone asked which was the real difference between HAVE and HAVE GOT. Is it true because I´ve heard this in many movies and in shows. If possible tell me everything possible about it.

the real dif., usage, everything!

Thanks a lot

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: have got

"I've got" is alive and well in American English.

Others will tell you its status in other parts of the world.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Oriya
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India

Exclamation Re: have got

Quote Originally Posted by elhithebest View Post
    hi
    my teacher told us the other day that HAVE GOT is not longer used in English, after someone asked which was the real difference between HAVE and HAVE GOT. Is it true because I´ve heard this in many movies and in shows. If possible tell me everything possible about it.

Thanks a lot
    You must note that 'have' is a primary verb, so it functions both as an auxiliary(helping) as well as a main verb.
    I have a car. (main verb, present simple-Possession)
    You can also say:
    I have got a car. (helping verb, present perfect- possession)
    Of course, Both 'Have' and 'Have got' can be used for possession grammatically but ‘have got’ is rarely used to show possession.
    The expression ‘have got’ is mostly used idiomatically to show ‘obligation’ or necessity; as:
    I have got to do my homework.(obligation)