• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • India
      • Current Location:
      • India

Need help

Is there a place where I can find phrases and words that are commonly used in business writing.

Ex: to the management or to a client.

Thank you.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Re: Need help

Quote Originally Posted by 2010 View Post
    Is there a place where I can find phrases and words that are commonly used in business writing.

Ex: to the management or to a client.

Thank you.
    Do a Google search for "Business English", and you'll probably find what you want.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

I make my living doing business writing.

It's not that different from other writing:
    You need to fully understand the purpose of what you're trying to write
    You need to know the audience, including their knowledge of industry-jargon
    You need to write clearly and not try to sound "fancy." Using passive is not formal. It's just wordy (a lot of the time).
    You need to remember that a person, a real human, will read what you write, but you also need to remember that what you write might be preserved, so speak in "human" but don't be overly casual.

Some of the things you see as being typical of "business" writing would not allow me to keep my job: As per the aforementioned discussion that occurred on ... that type of phrasing is not really "business-speak" and no one likes it. "As we discussed" is fine.

Purpose. Audience. Message. Understand those things and you'll be fine.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English