• French
      • Home Country:
      • France
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Cool their

Hello!

Here, I would like to know if it is better to say "recipe" or "recipes":

Yesterday, I asked my classmates what their favourite recipe was/ recipes were?
    (I want to know the one they like most)<= Is this sentence correct, by the way? .

Thanks

W

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: their

Note that a recipe tells you how to make something.

I have a great recipe for sugar cookies. Could you give me your recipe for potato salad?

Are you referring to recipes or to dishes/foods?

If you want to know their absolutely favorite one, then use the singular. If you think they have a group that they like better than any others, use recipes.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • French
      • Home Country:
      • France
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Cool Re: their

Quote Originally Posted by Barb_D View Post
    Note that a recipe tells you how to make something.

I have a great recipe for sugar cookies. Could you give me your recipe for potato salad?

Are you referring to recipes or to dishes/foods?

If you want to know their absolutely favorite one, then use the singular. If you think they have a group that they like better than any others, use recipes.
    Thank you Barbd. Some weeks ago, I had a similar problem (copy hereunder). The answer I was given is quite clear but I don't find it coherent with yours, can you help me?
    Hello,

I've got problems understanding when we use a plural noun with "their".