Student or Learner
Native Language
Bulgarian
Home Country
Bulgaria
Current Location
Bulgaria
Dear teachers,

Would you be kind enough to tell me whether I am right with my interpretation of the expressions in bold in the following sentences?

I dreamed last night that I was flogged by Dr. Raine.

flog = whip

but

He tried to flog his old car, but no one would buy it. = He tried to drive his old car, but nobody bought it.

drive = Brit .; colloq . to sell something quickly or cheap , " drive "

drive = foist on = palm off

Thanks for your efforts.

Regards,

V

Rover_KE

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
England
Hi, Vil,

It's OK, except for

drive = Brit .; colloq . to sell something quickly or cheap , " drive "

drive = foist on = palm off

I've been speaking colloquial BE for 70 years and have never known drive to have this meaning.

I advise you to forget it.

Rover

Reactions: vil

Barb_D

Staff member
Member Type
Other
Native Language
American English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
United States
Is flog used that way, Rover?

Offroad

Key Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Brazilian Portuguese
Home Country
Brazil
Current Location
Brazil
To 'drive a hard bargain' is an idiom which has specific meaning.

It's like 'to pull someone's leg' = joke.

We don't say 'pull someone's arm' to meaning the same thing.

[I am not a teacher]

vil

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Bulgarian
Home Country
Bulgaria
Current Location
Bulgaria
Hi Offroad,

What are you talking about? You must have your little joke. I’m not a man to be trifled with. Don’t speak for nothing. Don’t go astray. The facts are not in your favor.

pull someone's leg

Play a joke on, tease, as in Are you serious about moving back in or are you pulling my leg?

drive a hard bargain