Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

How to reduce your accent!

I suppose this is a very big task and that you guys can not answer me easily.
    Actually, I do take some courses to reduce my accent, but it seems not work me out effectively.
    How to sound more like the native English speaker?

Do you guys have smart short-cut or tricks that can help me out?

Your suggestion will be highly appreciated, thx.

Re: How to reduce your accent!

practice, practice, practice, and then some more practice

I am an American ESL teacher who works with students online to help reduce their accent. Let me know if you're interested in working with me. Take a look at my web page. Online Language Services

I have been in US about six years and still had a very strong accent. Even though, I always spoke English with my friends around me but my asian accent never improved!!! Just today I did a recording of my own voice and I sounded so funny...like my accent was so thick. Could anyone suggest a good method for me to improve my accent?? Does it help listening to how people speak?? Or is it neccessary watch TV everyday and listen to the way people pronounce words??

Key Member
    Other
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Philippines

I hope this would help you.

It's right to say that one should have to practice, practice, and practice if you wish to eliminate your strong native accent. This might take some time, of course but most importantly, I think, is to know how and what to practice with.

Since we are not native English speakers, we need time to hear some people with the type of accent we want to follow. Either you wish to have an American, British, or whatever accent you wish to imitate. Some may say that the best accent and most understandable is the neutral accent used by CNN newscasters. But regardless the type, we still need to practice.