• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Portuguese
      • Home Country:
      • Brazil
      • Current Location:
      • Brazil

failee

How common is the word failee in English? If not so common, how can I refer to students who have failed an exam?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: failee

Quote Originally Posted by beachboy View Post
    How common is the word failee in English? If not so common, how can I refer to students who have failed an exam?
    I have never heard the term before, nor can I find it in any online dictionary or in my Chambers Dictionary.

I would say you have to refer to them as "students who failed an exam"!

I've been teaching English for forty years and never heard of 'failee'.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Turkish
      • Home Country:
      • Turkey
      • Current Location:
      • Turkey

As far as I am concerned, to most people who are native or non-native speakers, the meaning of the word is understood even if it doesn't exist in English. So, I think it (deriving nouns by adding -ee) is one of those things that the teachers won't like. (I hope my last sentence didn't sound as controversial as it reads )

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England

Beachboy,

My recommendation is that you do not use failee.

Rover

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

I agree with Rover. Just because the meaning of a made-up word can be worked out from the context and from the use of a particular suffix or prefix, doesn't mean that it should be used.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Quote Originally Posted by euncu View Post