• Native Language:
      • Arabic
      • Home Country:
      • Egypt
      • Current Location:
      • Egypt

The Word "Tag"

Welcome dears

I looked confused in the meaning of "tag" because I read in the dictionary that it has several meanings but not often used !. I found that it's usually used in :

1) Tag question (Isn't it? , Aren't you?...etc)
    2) Tag team (In wrestling for example)
    3) Ahamd was tagged in a photo or album (In facebook)

I studied it in the past that it means the tail, where tag question rule means that the question is an appendix . When I played WWE games and watched it in TV I found that it may means tailed with another wrestler! or may be dual team and when I saw in facebook the tagging I felt it may means a tie or attach (link).

Now please, what the word 'tag' means exactly?

Regards

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Re: The Word "Tag"

Quote Originally Posted by Ahmad Safwat View Post
    Welcome dears

I looked confused in the meaning of "tag" because I read in the dictionary that it has several meanings but not often used !. I found that it's usually used in :

1) Tag question (Isn't it? , Aren't you?...etc)
    2) Tag team (In wrestling for example)
    3) Ahamd was tagged in a photo or album (In facebook)

I studied it in the past that it means the tail, where tag question rule means that the question is an appendix . When I played WWE games and watched it in TV I found that it may means tailed with another wrestler! or may be dual team and when I saw in facebook the tagging I felt it may means a tie or attach (link).

Now please, what the word 'tag' means exactly?

Regards
    It doesn't mean anything exactly. It has those meanings you've given, and some others as found in good dictionaries.