Help and Advice

I am looking for someone to read my short story and let me know if it is any good. I have always wanted to write and am now in a position to spend some time on it. I don't, however, wish to put as much effort into it if I don't have the talent for it. I have been writing poetry for pleasure for many years. What I am interested in finding out is: Can I make any money doing this? If not, then I will toss that notion and just go back to writing for my own pleasure.

Thank You.

Lessons in Strength

It was her first day of school. They had been worrying about it for months. Will she be able to keep up with the work? How will the rest of the kids accept her? Can she take it for half a day? The doctors said she needed to be able to follow as normal a life as possible. But they couldn’t help worrying.

Beth was born extremely premature. They were lucky to have her at all. But it had been hard; such a long, arduous process. All the sleepless nights, the special care, the prayers offered by family, friends and even strangers; were they answered? She has so many health issues, and she will always have to be careful. Yes, the prayers had been answered. Beth was tireless in her efforts to be “normal”. She wore glasses with very thick lenses, a hearing aid in each ear and the asthma was a constant challenge. She could have an attack in a second without warning. Those were the scariest. If they didn’t get to the inhaler in time, a trip to the hospital was required. She was a trooper though, ever tolerating the breathing treatments and learning to read lips at such a young age.