Student or Learner
Native Language
Bulgarian
Home Country
Bulgaria
Current Location
Bulgaria
Dear teachers,

Would you tell me whether I am right with my interpretation of the expression in bold in the following sentence?

Of course, Mort and I started riding the gravy train from then on. They paid us five thousand bucks to put the deal across. (Gardner’s “The D.A. Draws a Circle”)

ride the gravy train = strike oil, get the plum, become an unlawful income

Thank you for your efforts.

Regards,

V

DRThomas

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
United States
Current Location
Costa Rica
to earn a lot of money without working hard
to earn a large profit with very little investment
to profit greatly from one's position

Reactions: vil

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
Hope you don't mind my pointing this out, Vil, but I think you meant receive an unlawful income.

Reactions: vil

vil

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Bulgarian
Home Country
Bulgaria
Current Location
Bulgaria
“Hope you don't mind my pointing this out, Vil, but I think you meant receive an unlawful income.”

Hi fivejedion,

To the contrary, I am enormously in your debt for your kindness.

Thank you for your surgical interference. So you prevented the usage of a wrong collocation “becomes income”. You are right; I have to be more regardful of the usage of the proper lexical collocations. I liked your “to receive an unlawful income” but in my humble opinion it will not any the worse my alternative “to earn my income through illegitimate business transactions”.

Thank you again for your backing.

V.

vil

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Bulgarian
Home Country
Bulgaria
Current Location
Bulgaria
Hi Gillnetter,