[Grammar] Negatives without auxiliary

Status
Not open for further replies.

stephie

Member Type
English Teacher
Hi! I wonder if anyone can help me. I am an English teacher looking for an explanation as to why this sentence does not require an auxiliary verb:

You can choose not to get married.

Of course I know it is this and not "don't" get married but I cannot fathom why! I know the rules about reported speech and passives but I cannot work out exactly how this sentence works in relation to that. Every search has lead me to a dead end so I would be extremely grateful if anyone can shed any light on this for me!! Maybe one day I can return the favour!;-)

Thanks and I look forward to hearing your thoughts,

Steph.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
We make infinitives negative with not and there's no need for an auxiliary verb- to be or not to be, etc.

Reactions: 5jj

Raymott

VIP Member
Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
Australia
Current Location
Australia
Hi! I wonder if anyone can help me. I am an English teacher looking for an explanation as to why this sentence does not require an auxiliary verb:

Of course I know it is this and not "don't" get married but I cannot fathom why! I know the rules about reported speech and passives but I cannot work out exactly how this sentence works in relation to that. Every search has lead me to a dead end so I would be extremely grateful if anyone can shed any light on this for me!! Maybe one day I can return the favour!;-)

Steph.
You have an auxiliary, 'can' - albeit that, as Tdol says, you don't need one here: "He chose not to marry".

Without infinitives:
How can you not like me? auxiliary - 'can'
Why don't you like me? = Why do you not like me? auxiliary - 'do'
Might you not help me, rather than just criticising? 'might'
Won't you help me? = Will you not help me. 'will'
He doesn't help me. 'do'