• Native Language:
      • German
      • Home Country:
      • Germany
      • Current Location:
      • Sweden

within five times zone

Hi

If somebody says: I didn't want to be within five time zones of the place, does it mean that he wanted to be far, far away from the given place?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: within five times zone

Yes, exactly. At least a continent away, although Russia has more than five time zones, I believe.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

'time zones' as you say in your post, not 'times zone' (as you say in the title). Six time zones is a quarter of the circumference of the Earth, four time zones is a sixth of the circumference, and five is ... a jolly long way.

b

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Quote Originally Posted by BobK View Post
    'time zones' as you say in your post, not 'times zone' (as you say in the title). Six time zones is a quarter of the circumference of the Earth, four time zones is a sixth of the circumference, and five is ... a jolly long way.

b