• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China

Hagar-Ishmael

Was Ishmael rejected from the society or home because his mother, Hagar, was Abraham's concubine, Sarah's maid?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Hagar-Ishmael

You will find this story is told very differently depending on whether you are Muslim or Jewish/Christian.

I don't believe that an English forum is the place to have a Bible study. If you have a passage from the Bible that you are having a hard time understanding, you can post it here and ask for help.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • China
      • Current Location:
      • China

In a dictionary, "Ishmael" refers to the person who is rejected from the society or home. I couldn't understand Why it is Ishamel rather than others. So I looked it up Genesis, 16:1, the Old Testament. I'm so sorry I don't know completely yet. And I guess maybe it's because of f his mother, Hagar, who is Sarai's maid, is Egyptian, despised Sarai. But I'm not sure. So could you tell me the real reason.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Here is one site that tells the story: The Story Of Hagar and Ishmael

Here is another: HAGAR: Bible woman, slave of Sarah, concubine of Abraham, mother of Ishmael

I have never heard "Ishmael" used to refer generically to someone rejected.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.