• Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Taiwan
      • Current Location:
      • Taiwan

Smile had been + p.p.

Is the following sentence grammatical?

If Cleopatra's nose had been shortened, the history of the world would have been rewritten.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: had been + p.p.

It would mean that someone else shortened it, as some people have done today through cosmetic surgery.

If that's what you mean, then it's grammatical, but I don't know that I understand the meaning.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Quote Originally Posted by Ashiuhto View Post
    Is the following sentence grammatical?

If Cleopatra's nose had been shortened, the history of the world would have been rewritten.
    Grammatical? Only if the world has already ended and the history has been written. I just looked out my window and everything seems to be OK.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

I don't have a problem interpreting that to mean the history of the world TO DATE. I don't infer it means all of "history" is over. Was that your first impression?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Taiwan
      • Current Location:
      • Taiwan

Smile Re: had been + p.p.