• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Malaysia
      • Current Location:
      • Malaysia

disbelieving or unbelieving?

Can anyone tell me the difference in meaning between these two when they are used as participles?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: disbelieving or unbelieving?

Hi william-tan, and welcome to Using English.

I don't believe I have ever used "unbelieving."

Can you write the sentence you'd like to use it in?
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Malaysia
      • Current Location:
      • Malaysia

Thanks for the response. I'm new here.

Do you think either one of the two (disbelieivng and unbelieving) is suitable in this sentence:

One of the things that happen before our unbelieving eyes is a motocycle rider with four child passengers.

By the way, the Oxford Advanced Learner's Dictionary has this to say about unbelieving:

"feeling or showing that you do not believe sb/sth: She stared at us with unbelieivng eyes".

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

That's a great example.

I think if you can imagine saying "That's unbelievable!" (That defies belief) than "unbelieving" makes sense.

If you can imagine saying "I don't believe you." (I think you are lying or at least mistaken), then "disbelieving" makes sense.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Malaysia