• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Switzerland

Notify

Is it correct to use "notify" without an object? For example, "any defects must be notified in writing within 10 days."

Thanks!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Notify

No.
    You notify a person. That sentence needs to say who needs to be notified about the defect.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Wales

I disagree. Within the NHS, for example, infectious diseases must be notified to the Minister for Health immediately. This is done in writing as the Minister cannot take every phone call and may not even be available.
    There are many instances where written notification is specifically required, particularly within national and local government.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Okay, then I will revise to say that it's not okay in American usage. You would notify the CDC about the infectious diseases, not notify the diseases.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Danish
      • Home Country:
      • Denmark
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Quote Originally Posted by apex2000 View Post