• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • Spain

Lightbulb Tips please!

Hello! I am so lucky to have found this website and hope that you can help me with my doubts. I am not a teacher, nor do I have a degree, but I am from the U.S. and residing in Europe. I have decided to start tutoring English in my home, and so far I have a few "students" who are interested in conversational English. They are all adults and most of them seem to just want to talk, but I think that more should be included in the classes. I would appreciate it if anyone would offer me some tips on how to better these sessions. Thank you so much.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Canada
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

Re: Tips please!

Quote Originally Posted by Texana View Post
    Hello! I am so lucky to have found this website and hope that you can help me with my doubts. I am not a teacher, nor do I have a degree, but I am from the U.S. and residing in Europe. I have decided to start tutoring English in my home, and so far I have a few "students" who are interested in conversational English. They are all adults and most of them seem to just want to talk, but I think that more should be included in the classes. I would appreciate it if anyone would offer me some tips on how to better these sessions. Thank you so much.
    Welcome!

I think that if you want them to continue being your students you should largely follow their wishes. If they want you to correct their significant English errors or correct their pronunciation when warranted, you will have a chance to do do something besides just chatting.
    But generally your class should set the agenda, in keeping with what they want to get out of their time with you.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Polish
      • Home Country:
      • Poland
      • Current Location: