Results 1 to 2 of 2
    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Hong Kong
      • Current Location:
      • Hong Kong

    • Join Date: Jun 2008
    • Posts: 2,333
    #1

    Is a comma needed?

    But(,) Linda, it wasn't there.

    Is a comma needed after 'But'? I think it is needed because it is like the sentence But it wasn't there, Linda.

    Thanks.
    Last edited by Tan Elaine; 20-Feb-2011 at 10:35.

    • Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England

    • Join Date: Jun 2010
    • Posts: 24,514
    #2

    Re: Is a comma needed?

    You don't need a comma after but in that context.

    Rover

Similar Threads

  1. Is comma needed?
    By Tan Elaine in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 28-Dec-2009, 06:51
  2. Are comma needed?
    By kohyoongliat in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-Jun-2007, 19:51
  3. comma needed?
    By kohyoongliat in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-Apr-2007, 18:58
  4. Is comma needed?
    By kohyoongliat in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 26-Apr-2007, 05:14
  5. Is comma needed>
    By kohyoongliat in forum Ask a Teacher
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 27-Mar-2007, 19:24

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •