• Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

• Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy Commas

I'm a college student who enjoys writing and am trying to improve my grammar and punctuation skills. I'll admit I've always been pretty bad when it comes to that stuff which is a shock to some because I like to read and write a lot. I think the reason why is because whenever I read I always focus on the images in my head I get when reading, instead of the grammar and punctuation and I'm trying to change that. Right now I'm reading up on commas and confused where to place them in this example:

An old fisherman fishes a lone in a river under the morning sunshine.

One thing about commas I always remember is you should separate the parts of sentences that could still be a sentence without them:

An old fisherman fishes, a lone in a river, under the morning sun.

But because alone is an important adjective, should I include that in the coma also?

An old fisherman fishes a lone, in a river, under the morning sun.

Or should I just use one comma: An old fisherman fishes alone in a river, under the morning sun.

Thank you so much for taking the time to read this, I hope to get some help soon. I'm real happy that I found this forum.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

• Post Thanks / Like

Re: Commas

I am not a teacher.

Commas are dangerous. They can louse up otherwise good writing faster than anything. Use them sparingly, only when the mechanics of the writing calls for them. None of the commas you propose are good, right or needed.