• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Use of "yet"

Hi all, I'm John, and I'm not sure I'm in the right forum, but here goes. I am a grad student in history and am currently looking at Walt Whitman's self-titled poem (aka Song of Myself) in Leaves of Grass. Chant (verse) 222 of the 1860 edition reads: "I tell not the fall of Alamo; Not one escaped to tell the fall of Alamo; The hundred and fifty are dumb yet at Alamo." My question is, why are they dumb yet? Whitman is writing around 1850-55, at least fifteen years after the Alamo, and the "dumb" are the defenders who died there. But the use of "yet" makes it sound like their condition could change in the future. The next chant reads "Hear now the tale of the murder in cold blood of four hundred and twelve young men," speaking of the Goliad massacre, just days after Alamo. Is he juxtaposing "yet" and "now" to take the reader back to the time of Goliad (when the victims of the massacre would have heard of the Alamo's fall but no detailed accounts), or is this an implication that death is not permanent? Any insights would be helpful! Thanks

John

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • England

Re: Use of "yet"

I agree with that, but also feel that an extra dimension is given by the word 'yet', as if there is indeed some chance of their telling something in some supernatural way from beyond the grave one day.

The other possibility, rather more mundane, is that the line doesn't scan without 'yet', and 'yet' is far more poetic than 'still'.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Use of "yet"

Quote Originally Posted by The Dude View Post