'begin' in the present perfect with time expression help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

former

Member Type
Other
Native Language
English
Home Country
Thailand
Current Location
Thailand
Greetings,

I have recently been caught out, so to speak, when I asked a student during a game to conjugate the verb 'begin' in the present perfect. She replied:

"I have begun studying for 3 years"

As a native speaker, this struck me as incorrect. I believe this is grammatically correct (insert another verb other than 'begin' e.g "I have studied for 3 years), but it simply doesn't make sense. For the sake of clarity, I know how to say this correctly using other tenses:

"I have begun studying" (no time expression)
or
"I have been studying for 3 years"
or
"I began studying 3 years ago"

But, the question was for the student to use the verb 'begin' in the present perfect.

My conclusion, and I am fully prepared to be told I'm wrong, is that it is grammatically correct, but it just doesn't make sense to "have begun" doing something for 3 threes. In my mind, this statements means I have been on chapter 1 page 1 everyday for three years. Even if the student's answer was:

"I have begun studying since 2009"

I would think the same: It's grammatically correct, but it doesn't make sense.

This is my first post here. Please don't dump on me. I'm a new teacher, and I'm just looking for some insight from some of the old sages here.

Thanks in advance.

former

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
You are worrying too much about 'grammatically correct'. 'I died yesterday' is 'grammatically correct', but nonsense in most normal senses of the expression.

You are correct in your thinking:

"I have begun studying" (no time expression) :tick:
or
"I have been studying for 3 years" :tick:
or
"I began studying 3 years ago" :tick: