Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Uruguay
Current Location
Uruguay
Hi, thanks for having this forum, it's my first time here.

My question: I think I once heard that it was possible to omit the apostrophee in certain cases, and still have a genitive. The examples were more or less like these:

the morning newspaper (instead of "the morning's newspaper")
last Tuesday workshop (instead of "last Tuesday's workshop")
Last Monday meeting (same as above)

Although it looks more like a case of adjectives (Monday as a modifier of meeting. So I wonder what, from a grammar point of view, is this? adjectives or possessives withoug apostrophee?

thanks for your feedback.

freezeframe

Key Member
Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
Canada
Current Location
Canada

My question: I think I once heard that it was possible to omit the apostrophee in certain cases, and still have a genitive. The examples were more or less like these:

Although it looks more like a case of adjectives (Monday as a modifier of meeting. So I wonder what, from a grammar point of view, is this? adjectives or possessives withoug apostrophee?

thanks for your feedback.

You have to distinguish between possessive and an attributive noun.

You can have two nouns together with the first one acting as an adjective that modifies the second one. It's called an attributive noun.

So, is the first noun showing a possession or is it acting like an adjective? If the answer is the latter, you cannot replace it with a possessive form.

That said...

the morning newspaper (instead of "the morning's newspaper") = I believe "morning" here is an attributive noun. The version with an apostrophe sounds unnatural to me.

Is it "last (Tuesday workshop)" or "(last Tuesday) workshop". If the answer is the second, you need an apostrophe. This is the more likely meaning.