Present perfect vs Present perfect continuous (natives only please)

Status
Not open for further replies.

GUS22

Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Argentina
Hello all. I am a native teacher from England and have been teaching for about five years. I have been studying the present perfect continuous and perfect to explain it better so already understand how to explain the basics . However there are exceptions to the neat and simplistic rules often presented in textbooks. This question is quite complex and the answer is too subtle to be found in any grammar book I have read. I have other reasons for asking that only native speakers respond and as such, no offense intended, even if you are a qualified teacher this question is for native speakers only !

Ok so here it is :

a) I 've been living in Japan for 6 years (correct)
b) I 've lived in Japan for 6 years (also correct)

You walk into a bar to meet a friend, he raises his glass to you and says :

c) I've been drinking for 6 hours (correct)
d) I've drunk for 6 hours (incorrect)

Why is b) correct but d) not correct ?

Last edited:

GUS22

Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Argentina

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
This question is quite complex and the answer is too subtle to be found in any grammar book I have read. As such even if you are a qualified teacher this question is for NATIVE SPEAKERS ONLY
I think your cavalier rejection of ideas from the non-native speakers in this forum, some of whom have been offering sound advice for a long time, could be one of the reasons for the lack of response to your question.

GUS22

Member Type
Academic
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Argentina