• Native Language:
      • Polish
      • Home Country:
      • Poland
      • Current Location:
      • United States

I'm 17 and I need your help

Hi!

I'm 17 and it's my second topic here, but I will write again, bacause I need your help. I moved to American about 1 year ago and I still don't understand movies, maybe 40%, I'm not fluent and I don't feel confident with my English. I'd like to improve my English, I'd like to understand, to speak, and to be confident. Many times I wanted go back to Poland because I don't have motivation to learning, I don't have many friends that I could meet after school, I spent my vacation surfing the net, and playing computer games, few times I hung out, but it's not enough for the guy like me - teenager. I don't want to complain, but I want some advices how to force myself and keep motivation, because many times I started learning vacabulary, and I stopped, because I was bored. Sometimes I feel bad, because I think that Americans don't want to hang out with someone who doesn't speak English, especially polish guy, like me. I don't have motivation to watch TV, learn something, of course I do my homework, talk with friends at school, but I think it's not enough to be fluent like in 2-3 year. I'd like to speak fluently before I leave High School, is it possible? How much time is it going to take for the person like me. I'm already 17, am I too old? Please answer for my topic and give me some advices how to keep learning, and how to learn efficiently. Thank You!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • China

Re: I'm 17 and I need your help

Matt-
    Being a teenager sucks, and being told to 'just hang in there' doesn't help one bit, but that's about all anyone can tell you. It gets better.