• Spanish
      • Home Country:
      • Argentina
      • Current Location:
      • Argentina

Wish

Hi, this is my first time here !
    I have a problem with the choose of a tense form in the following sentence:

I wish she didn't come back. Or. I wish she wouldn't come back.
    As far as I know both forms may be correct but I cannot quite understand the difference.

Thank you!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Wish

Quote Originally Posted by Mauro63 View Post
    Hi, this is my first time here !
    I have a problem with the choose of a tense form in the following sentence:

I wish she didn't come back. Or. I wish she wouldn't come back. In your first example, if you are referring to a past action, it would be better to say, "I wish she had not come back". If you are referring to a future possibility of coming back, your first example is not correct but your second example is OK or "I wish she won't come back".

As far as I know both forms may be correct but I cannot quite understand the difference.

Thank you!
    b.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Czech Republic

Wishes folllowed by 'that' are expressions of regret for a situation that will, does or did not materialize. The non-materialisation is shown by a backshifting of tenses similar to that in hypothetical conditional sentences.

1. I wish she wouldn't come back
    2. I wish she didn't come back
    3. I wish she hadn't come back.

1. Wishes with 'would' express the speaker's regret that something will (or will not) happen - i.e, in the future and/or that somebody else insists on doing.

2. Wishes with the past simple express the speaker's regret that something does (or does not) happen.