• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Korean
      • Home Country:
      • South Korea
      • Current Location:
      • South Korea

will vs be going to

My grammar book says 'will' is for the decision made at the time of speech, while 'be going to' is for a plan made before speech, but is the distinction so strict? I've asked a native speaker, and he said the two are interchangeable in any cases.

Will) A: Tom! You've left the water on
    B: I'm sorry Mom, I'll turn it off
    be going to)A: What a mess! Your room is too dirty
    B: I know, I'm going to clean it tonight.
    Last edited by keannu; 27-Oct-2011 at 00:58.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: will vs be going to

I don't observe much of a difference in most cases.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Korean
      • Home Country:
      • South Korea
      • Current Location:
      • South Korea

Quote Originally Posted by Barb_D View Post
    I don't observe much of a difference in most cases.
    If what you said is the case, I mean, there's little difference in the two forms, then, where is this distinction from? A made-up one or a very slight difference in the perception of the two in native speakers' minds?
    I'm just curious if I can tell my people(students or whoever) that you don't have to distinguish the two or you are free to use either of the two in any cases.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Japan