• Native Language:
      • Tamil
      • Home Country:
      • Sri Lanka
      • Current Location:
      • Sri Lanka

Lightbulb Mathod of Saying bye

Dear Sir/Madam,

I'm very new to your respective site and this is my first question.

Can I say to my friend while leaving "Can I make a move and it was nice to talking to you"?

Best regards,

MIQUASH.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: Mathod of Saying bye

Quote Originally Posted by Miquash View Post
    Dear Sir/Madam,

I'm very new to your respective respected site and this is my first question.

Can I say to my friend while leaving "Can I make a move and it was nice to talking to you"?

Best regards,

MIQUASH.
    Welcome to the forum.

I assume you mean that you are leaving, not your friend. It's more usual to say "I must make a move" or "I'm going to make a move now", rather than "Can I ... ?"

I would also make them two separate sentences, not join them with "and".

I'm going to make a move now. It's been nice talking to you. See you soon. Bye."

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

I need help with the "move" part. That's not something we say in the US. What does it mean? "I've got to get moving"? Same meaning?

Here, it sounds either like you're playing chess or you want to make a sexual advance at someone.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Quote Originally Posted by Barb_D View Post
    I need help with the "move" part. That's not something we say in the US. What does it mean? "I've got to get moving"? Same meaning?