• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Bulgarian
      • Home Country:
      • Bulgaria
      • Current Location:
      • Bulgaria

In time/On time

Still don't get it.Would you ,please,give clearer examples? Thank you!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: In time/On time

Hi,
    You can use the serach option. I entered "in time" "on time" (with the quotes as shown) and got several threads.

This is one of them: https://www.usingenglish.com/forum/a.../139305-a.html

If you look through those and still have questions, please ask again.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: In time/On time

Quote Originally Posted by Probablymaybe View Post
    Still don't get it.Would you ,please,give clearer examples? Thank you!

NOT A TEACHER

Here are some examples that I have made up. I hope that they are correct.

ON TIME

(1) I have read that the trains in Japan always arrive on time. (If the schedule says that it will arrive at 7:15, then it arrives at 7:15!)

(2) The examination will start at 8 a.m. Be sure that you arrive on time. The professor will lock the doors at 8 a.m. You can cry all you want, but she will not let you enter after 8 a.m.

(3) I had a doctor's appointment for 10 a.m. But I had to sit in the waiting room until 10:45 before he saw me. I wanted to ask him "Why didn't you see me on time?" But, of course, I was afraid to say that. Here in the United States, we treat physicians with super respect.

IN TIME