• Native Language:
      • Chinese
      • Home Country:
      • Hong Kong
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Question at/in

Hello guys,

PPl do tend to use these two prepositions interchangeably [to refer to location], right? However, more often than not, ESL learners are sometimes taught the differences, say, at is referring to a specific place/a point and in is referring to something like the interiority of an area.

E.g.
    I study at/in University.
    I'll wait for you at/in the cinema.

what're the minor differences? Thanks!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: at/in

(Not a Teacher)

Sometimes "at" and "in" are interchangeable, sometimes they aren't. For both of your sentences, I would use "at"

"I am studying at UCLA."

-- "In" just doesn't sound quite right here. No particular rule, I think, that's just how it's expressed.

"I'll wait for you at the movie theater."

-- You could use "in" here, but it would imply that you will be waiting inside the theater. "At" is non-specific. It simply means that you will be hanging out somewhere in the vicinity of the theater.
    Last edited by SlickVic9000; 16-Jan-2012 at 20:37.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Right. Let's say it's really cold out. Then saying "I'll wait for you in..." makes sense because you're in the buidling, where it's warm.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Quote Originally Posted by Tedwonny View Post
    Hello guys,