Help needed on tenses!

I'm currently studying a CELTA and need some help with a lesson I'm teaching on Monday. I was wondering if somepne could help me with the following:

These questions are from "Cutting Edge: Upper Intermediate (p.36)".

In these dialogues, the students need to choose the best verb form and answer why. Choosing the best verb form is simple enough but can anybody help me as to why they're the best verb form to use? (and why the other one is wrong) Any concept-checking questions or timelines to clarify will be much appreciated.

1. So how are you anyway? Done anything exciting since I last saw you?

No, nothing at all. It's rained / It's been raining all weekend. I haven't been / I haven't been going out once!

2. I'll phone you tonight to discuss the details, say about eight o'clock?

Could you make it a bit later? We'll have / We'll be having dinner at that time.

3. Excuse me, is it going to be much longer? I've waited / I've been waiting for over an hour!

I'm sorry, the computer's broken down / been breaking down and we've lost / we've been losing all our records. Dr Greenway will see you as soon as he can.

4. Put the camera down please, you'll break it / you'll be breaking it.

No, I won't!

I hope you can help, I would really appreciate it!

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

Re: Help needed on tenses!

1- has been raining- began in the past and is still going on; the present perfect progressive can be used to emphasise the continuity of an action
    1b- here, there's no action, so there's no continuity to emphasise, so the simple fom makes more sense
    What do you think about the others?

2. "We'll be having" - Suggests that the speaker will be performing an action at a certain point in the future (with someone else); "we'll have" suggests a spontaneous decision between the two in the dialogue and can't be correct.