• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Vietnamese
      • Home Country:
      • Vietnam
      • Current Location:
      • Vietnam

see sb + PII?

In one of my exercise (don't ask what, it's irrelevant), I was given this as a correct answer

"No sooner had she returned than she saw him surrounded by visitors"

I don't get why it is "saw him surrounded". If my memory serve me right, there are only 2 kind of see: + V(INF) and V-ing. Some explanation would be helpful

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: see sb + PII?

He was surrounded by visitors. That's what she saw. She saw him wearing a green shirt. She saw him with his feet up. She saw him surrounded by visitors.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Vietnamese
      • Home Country:
      • Vietnam
      • Current Location:
      • Vietnam

Wait, so you mean we can actually conjugate the verb that some after "see"? I remember asking some one last time about "she saw him stand on the station" and I was told the verb stand was supposed to be infinitive because it comes after "see".

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

We're not conjugating "surround" here. "Surrounded" is the participle used to modify "him." You're not describing his action, but his appearance/state, which was "surrounded by visitors."

What does "She saw him stand on the station" mean? I read that as she saw him walk over and then stop moving, so he was then standing on something. But what?