turn out the light or turn on the light?

Status
Not open for further replies.

davecoote

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Malta
i am an english teacher who has discovered a text book which states "turn out the light" any comments? i am sure the phrase is "turn off" :)

emsr2d2

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK
I am an English teacher who has discovered a text book which states "turn out the light". Any comments? I am sure the phrase is "turn off". :)

In BrE, we use both but I think "turn out" is even more common in AmE.

Please note that it's important on this forum to use correctly capitalised and punctuated English in our posts at all times, especially if you are an English teacher and a native speaker, both of which are stated in your member info. Learners read posts and will take particular notice of spelling, grammar, punctuation and capitalisation used by teachers. Ensuring that we write our posts correctly helps to avoid the learners getting into bad habits.

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
i am an english teacher who has discovered a text book which states "turn out the light" any comments? i am sure the phrase is "turn off" :)
Are you sure that you are a native speaker? This seems an odd question if you are. I am sure that most of us would tend to use one of these, whichever we choose, in preference to the other, but we know of the existence of the other.

Tdol

No Longer With Us (RIP)
Staff member
Native Language
British English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Japan
Turn out may be less used nowadays, but it's fine. I would teach turn off before it, though.

BobK

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
UK