• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Urdu
      • Home Country:
      • Pakistan
      • Current Location:
      • Pakistan

My bike punctured on the way so I went to the tyre shop to repair it. Please correct

Hi teachers,

My bike punctured on the way so I went to the tyre shop to repair it. Please correct the underlined.

Many thanks in advance.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: My bike punctured on the way so I went to the tyre shop to repair it. Please corr

It seems okay. "My bike (or my bike tire or my tire) got a puncture" sounds more natural to me than "My bike punctured."
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Urdu
      • Home Country:
      • Pakistan
      • Current Location:
      • Pakistan

Re: My bike punctured on the way so I went to the tyre shop to repair it. Please corr

Thank you, Bard.
    I went to tyre shop to repair it or get it repaired? Can I also use "repair shop" instead of "tyre shop"?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Naeem PTC View Post
    Thank you, Bard.
    I went to tyre shop to repair it or get it repaired? Can I also use "repair shop" instead of "tyre shop"?
    "I went to the tyre shop to get it repaired."
    Whether you use "tyre shop" or "repair shop" depends on the nature of the business. When I lived in India all the local "mistries" (mechanics) would repair punctures.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Quote Originally Posted by Naeem PTC View Post
    Hi teachers,