• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

If he wants to

Okay, so you know I hate giving things labels, but is the "to" in "if he want to" a preposition or part of the implied infinitive that is left out?

She can go if she wants to. (Implied - if she wants to go)

Usually I don't care, but after a snarky comment about "not ending a sentence with a preposition" I'd like to know. (And I know the "rule" about not ending the sentence with a preposition is nonsense, but that's not the point.)
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Hungarian
      • Home Country:
      • Europe
      • Current Location:
      • Europe

Post Re: If he wants to

Quote Originally Posted by Barb_D View Post
    Okay, so you know I hate giving things labels, but is the "to" in "if he want to" a preposition or part of the implied infinitive that is left out?
    The latter. I have found the following in Swan's "Practical English Usage":

1 to used instead of whole infinitive
    We can use to instead of the whole infinitive of a repeated verb (and following words), if the meaning is clear.
    Are you and Gillian getting married? ~ We hope to.
    Let's go for a walk. ~I don't want to.
    I don't dance much now, but I used to a lot.
    Sorry I shouted at you. I didn't mean to.
    Somebody ought to clean up the bathroom. ~ I'll ask John to.
    Be and have (used for possession) are not usually dropped.
    There are more flowers than there used to be. (NOT ... than there used to.)
    She hasn't been promoted yet, but she ought to be. (NOT ... but she ought to.)

2 ellipsis of whole infinitive

In some cases the whole infinitive can be left out. This happens after nouns
    and adjectives.