• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: THE ENGLISH LANGUAGE RECENTLY

None of those are English words. If they are being used as slang, you might have luck with Urban Dictionary. I don't see any point in learning them, since today's slang will be on tomorrow's discard pile.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

A NEET is a young person classified by the Department of Work and Pensions as 'Not in Employment, Education, or Training'; it is not slang; it is jargon used by people involved in the worlds of work and training. The others look like portmanteau words: e.g. 2 - shed + headquarters [that is the centre of what looks like a big corporation that is in fact a garden shed or a garage]; 3 - peers + parents [the sort of baby-boomer parents who treat their children as peers]; 4 - more + bourgeoisie...

But those are guesses, and the words are not idiomatic. Sometimes wordplay like this does become idiomatic, as in the case of, say 'metrosexual' [metropolitan + heterosexual]; but usually it has the limited life of a one-off journalistic joke.

b

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

"Locavores" are people who only eat locally-produced food. Some because they think it healthier, others because they think it reduces their "carbon footprint."

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK