Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Vietnam
Didn't used to have been? No, it's a complete mess.

Firstly, it should be "didn't use to."

Secondly, "have been" refers to your experiences, such as "I have been to Paris."

"Used to" or "didn't use to" refers to a specific period in the past. "I used to be a chef;" "That supermarket didn't use to be here."

The two structures are used for two different and incompatible meanings. You can't have an experience that only applied in the past, since experiences last forever.

ostap77

Key Member
Member Type
Student or Learner
Native Language
Ukrainian
Home Country
Ukraine
Current Location
Ukraine
If you refer to the following link Learning English | BBC World Service ,you're going to see that "didn't used to" and "didn't use to" are possible. Would you be still saying that "didn't used to" is incorrect?

Last edited:

5jj

Staff member
Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
Czech Republic
Current Location
Czech Republic
If you refer to the following link Learning English | BBC World Service ,you're going to see that "didn't used to" and "didn't use to" are possible. Would the author be saying a complete mess too?
Don't ask for our opinions and then produce another opinion with the suggestion that ours are wrong.

bhaisahab

Staff member
Member Type
Retired English Teacher
Native Language
British English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Ireland
I'm getting fed up with you testing us in this way, ostap.

I'm With Stupid

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
England
Current Location
Vietnam
It's fairly simple. "Use to" and "used to" sound exactly the same, so it's a common mistake to write it as "didn't used to." So basically you're asking a philosophical question as to when a common mistake becomes accepted English.