• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines
      • Current Location:
      • Canada

He (always makes, will always make) noises --HABITS

This is my first thread post. I do not know where exactly I should post this type of question.

Well, I am studying about Verb Tenses. I just found out that Simple Future can be used to express habits.

Ex. He will always make noises when we are sleeping.

My question is what is the difference without the "will" (He always makes noises when we are sleeping.)?

Is there a difference in terms of usage and context?

P.S Which between the two tenses is used preferably by a native speaker in English?

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Polish
      • Home Country:
      • Poland
      • Current Location:
      • Poland

Re: He (always makes, will always make) noises --HABITS

"Will" is often, but not exclusively, used to describe irritating habits. Making noises in bed can be very irritating. But this is definitely not the whole story. "Will" is sometimes used to describe habits that are not irritating as well. Unfortunately, I don't know how to give you a complete picture.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Welcome to Using English.
    Thank you so much for giving your thread a good title and using proper English in your question.

Simple present expresses habit. He always makes noises when we are trying to sleep.
    Present continuous is also used to show that you are annoyed about a habit: He is always making noises when we are trying to sleep!
    Last edited by Rover_KE; 10-Sep-2012 at 07:47.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Tagalog
      • Home Country:
      • Philippines