English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Spain
Hi,

I would like to know if anyone can help me with becoming an english teacher. I was born in London and lived there for 11 years, then my family decided to come and live in Spain. Due to the economic situation, I see myself with the obligation of offering private english lessons to earn some money and not become homeless.

I have very little knowledge of grammar but I recently got Grammar in Use (Intermediate level) by Raymond Murphy and although I dont know why I say this and that in a particular way, if I look it up and read it several times I understand it without much difficulties, but I have to say...grammar is boring as hell.

My questions are: as a native with no experience teaching, How do I teach english? How do I structure a lesson? What do I focus on? and most important: Can I teach english without even mentioning grammar?

Many thanks.

charliedeut

VIP Member
Member Type
Interested in Language
Native Language
Spanish
Home Country
Spain
Current Location
Spain
Hi Jeron, and welcome :hi:to the Forum.

If that's the case, I would not recommend that you teach grammar (teaching something you consider "boring as hell" will hardly get you long-lasting students).

However, I know there are people in Spain who are mainly interested in learning conversation. You could give it a try there: just teach what a native speaker would say in certain situations. This practical wisdom is quite appreciated by Spaniards who, just like you, find grammar is hard to swallow.

charliedeut

PS: Please keep in mind that "English" must always be capitalized.

Jeron

Member Type
English Teacher
Native Language
English
Home Country
UK
Current Location
Spain
Thanks for the welcome, advice and correction!

I already have a student and have had 2 classes with him mixing basic vocabulary, how to say what time it is, greetings, personal introductions, etc.