Student or Learner
Native Language
German
Home Country
Austria
Current Location
Austria
Hello everyone,

I'm applying for a semester abroad with the ERASMUS program and although I'm an English student it would really help me if you could look through it and correct major mistakes or awkward sentences. Thank you very much in advance.

BTW I don't know why one paragraph is in bold but for some reason I can't turn it off... I'm sorry about that.

Here it is:

Dear Mag.______,
I am writing to you in order to apply for a place at the ERASMUS exchange program in the summer term 2014. My name is _______ and I’m in my fourth semester of studying to become a teacher for English and History and in my first semester of my bachelor in English and American studies.

I decided to apply for this program because I am strongly interested in experiencing different lifestyles, cultures and mentalities. I am sure that this exchange would enrich me, both personally and academically. In my opinion, intercultural exchange is necessary to understand the close-knit and fast-moving society we live in and learning from one another is an advantage in every aspect. Studying abroad would also help me gain a broader knowledge of the culture and language as well as experience a different approach to education, which will be very helpful, particularly when wanting to become a teacher myself.

The first university I chose to apply for is the ________ in the UK. I’m really interested in the British lifestyle and the UK has always been of interest to me; I’ve been there five times so far and cannot wait to go again. _______ particularly interests me for various reasons.