• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Arabic
      • Home Country:
      • Egypt
      • Current Location:
      • Egypt

Red face Using a semi colon instead of a comma when there is examples or even though clause.

Hello everyone,

I want to know more about punctuation. I know the sentence may be vague and not natural. But it is to clarify more about the use of semi-colons in these sentences.

1-Some films are educational teaching us ,as students, more about the history of wars, facts, and historical dates.

2- Even though without tourism, the standard of living would not be improved as nowadays; the industry is vulnerable to economic crises and natural disaster.

3-It's my contention that; as well as enhancing creativity, computer gaming improves math, thinking and language skills.
    Last edited by saloom2; 06-Mar-2013 at 11:24.
    I wish I had better English, but I work hard to improve it. I'm studying for IGCSE, so I'm only interested in BrE.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • Australia
      • Current Location:
      • Australia

Re: Using a semi colon instead of a comma when there is examples or even though claus

Quote Originally Posted by saloom2 View Post
    Hello everyone,

I want to know more about punctuation. I know the sentence may be vague and not natural. But it is to clarify more about the use of semi-colons in these sentences.

1-Some films are educational teaching us ,as students, more about the history of wars, facts, and historical dates.

2- Even though without tourism, the standard of living would not be improved as nowadays; the industry is vulnerable to economic crises and natural disaster.

3-It's my contention that; as well as enhancing creativity, computer gaming improves math, thinking and language skills.