• Native Language:
      • Arabic
      • Home Country:
      • Egypt
      • Current Location:
      • Egypt

Smile I overuse 'want'.

Hello everyone,

I guess it's a problem that face almost all English-as-a-second-language learners, and you might have figured out a solution for it.
    I actually use 'Want' too much, and I want to entirely stop using it. Would you tell they ways I could try to eliminate this problem?
    I wish I had better English, but I work hard to improve it. I'm studying for IGCSE, so I'm only interested in BrE.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

re: I overuse 'want'.

Quote Originally Posted by saloom2 View Post
    Hello everyone,

I guess it's a problem that face almost all English-as-a-second-language learners, and you might have figured out a solution for it.
    I actually use 'Want' too much, and I want to entirely stop using it. Would you tell they ways I could try to eliminate this problem?
    Give us some example sentences where you use the word "want" too much and we will see if we can suggest some alternatives. Depending on the context, "would like" is a possible alternative.
    Remember - if you don't use correct capitalisation, punctuation and spacing, anything you write will be incorrect.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Hungarian
      • Home Country:
      • Hungary
      • Current Location:
      • Hungary

The word "intend" can replace "want" (What do you want/intend to do about this?), but a few example would really help us to solve your problem. By the way, I would advise against totally banning "want" from your vocabulary, you should just extend your arsenal with a few other alternatives. If the way you speak really matters to you, (and otherwise why would you ask something like that?) then boosting your vocab is the best you can do.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Arabic