• Native Language:
      • Italian
      • Home Country:
      • Italy
      • Current Location:
      • Italy

Hitchhiking

Good Afternoon,
    I was reading an article about Cuba-s Health system. At a certain point, I found this word that puzzled me in a sentence:
    " One neurosurgeon spoke of hitchhiking to work and operating on an empty stomach"
    What does " Hitchhiking" mean? I tried to look up the word, but I am not completely satisfied with the definition " to travel by obtaining free lifts in motor vehicles" . I believe that it has another meaning in the sentence.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • United States

Re: Hitchhiking

I don't see another meaning here at all. He had to rely on getting rides from other people, probably strangers, to get to work.
    I'm not a teacher, but I write for a living. Please don't ask me about 2nd conditionals, but I'm a safe bet for what reads well in (American) English.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • England
      • Current Location:
      • Thailand

As an NES but not a teacher:
    Based on your quoted text, I would say that your dictionary definition appears to be the correct interpretation.

Regards
    R21

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • Laos

It shows the poverty- the doctor had to hitch-hike to work because they couldn't afford public transport and didn't own a car, and had to operate without having breakfast-the empty stomach is the surgeon's.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Vietnamese
      • Home Country:
      • Vietnam
      • Current Location:
      • Vietnam

Quote Originally Posted by Marianna Visconte View Post
    Good Afternoon,