• Native Language:
      • Persian
      • Home Country:
      • Iran
      • Current Location:
      • Iran

an instrument of reflexivity

Hi
    Once more Mr.Gormley talking about his work, The Angel of the North, mentions the fact that:"...it's an instrument of reflexivity to make us feel more alive-there's no intrinsic value to art.

Does he mean even if a work of art is not valuable but as it makes us reflect on our lives that's enough? Because previously he mentioned that we deal in a culture of snacking, highly-articulated, highly-hyped, almost predigested experience. He hoped the Angel could make us aware of the time of the day and so on.

Thanks a lot.
    Being a non-native teacher, I'm so thrilled being in such a superb forum.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • British English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: an instrument of reflexivity

Quote Originally Posted by moonlike View Post
    Hi
    Once more Mr (no full stop required after Mr) Gormley talking about his work, The Angel of the North, mentions the fact that (no colon required) "... (space required after ellipsis) it's an instrument of reflexivity to make us feel more alive (space required before dash) - (space required after dash) there's no intrinsic value to art."

Does he mean even if a work of art is not valuable but as it makes us reflect on our lives, that's enough? Because previously he mentioned that we deal in a culture of snacking, highly-articulated, highly-hyped, almost pre-digested experience. He hoped the Angel could make us aware of the time of the day and so on.

Thanks a lot.