• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • Spanish
      • Home Country:
      • Argentina
      • Current Location:
      • Argentina

Cool Verb transitivity

Hi! Im'm new in the website! I'm studying grammar and I have several questions. Here is the first one:

The sentence "Dad gave me a car" is clearly ditransitive, it has a direct object and an indirect object.
    But in the sentence "Dad gave a car to me", where "to me" is a prepositional phrase, is the verb still considered as ditransitive?

Second question:

With phrasal verbs I get confused. Sometimes the object is the object of the preposition as in:
    "I'm just asking for information" so in this case, the verb ASKING FOR is intransitive (no object).
    But in this case, in the book I'm reading:
    "Jane took off her coat" the verb is transitive. Is the object "her coat" the object of the entire phrasal verb? And in the previous sentence, is "information" the object of the prepositional part of the verb? Am I right?

Thanks, Gilda from Argentina.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location:
      • Chile

Re: Verb transitivity

Hi Gilda,

Wow, you really know how to analyze English very well!
    Let me try to answer to your questions.
    However, I am not a grammar or linguistics expert. There may be someone on the forums who can answer your questions better than I can.

I think that "Dad gave a car to me" is not ditransitive because there is actually only one object - the car.
    (I may be wrong though).

I think that in "Jane took off her coat" the verb is transitive because "her coat" is the object of the phrasal verb "took off".

My guess is that in "asking for information", it is intransitive because the "asking" is not an action that affects the "information" directly.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • American English
      • Home Country:
      • United States
      • Current Location: