• Native Language:
      • Ukrainian
      • Home Country:
      • Ukraine
      • Current Location:
      • Ukraine

is/was/has been - what to choose?

Hi, everyone

This is the first time I have posted a question here. So if I do something wrong, please let me know.
    So, I have been learning English grammar for a long time but still I haven't a clear vision of using some constructions and still I make some mistakes. This may happen because I am practising a self-education or I am just a bad student. I would be very gratefull for answering next questions.

Say we have next situations:

1) Now I am writing an email to my friend. And yesterday he asked me to send him some pdf documents that I had. So I am writing :
    "
    Hi, Jeff
    it was not so easy to find the documents you asked me. But I managed to do that. The file \is\was\has been\ attached to the email.
    Regards,
    "

2) Yesterday my friend gave me an article to read. I read it today in the morning. Now it is evening and I am calling to the friend:
    "
    Hi, Jeff. The article /is/was/has been/ read (by me).
    "

3) Five minutes ago my friend gave me an article to read. Now I have read it. I can say:
    "
    Jeff, the article /is/was/has been/ read (by me).
    "

4) Yesterday when I got home I saw that the windows in my room \was\had been\ closed.

Please, show me the right way of handling these cases.
    P.S. And one more thing. Is it right to use "by someone" while saying something like "it is done by me\them\..." or something similar.

• Member Info
      • Native Language:
      • English
      • Home Country:
      • UK
      • Current Location:
      • UK

Re: is/was/has been - what to choose?

This is how I would phrase the body of each email [with alternatives in brackets]:

1. It was not very easy [was quite difficult] to find the documents you asked me about, but I managed to do it. I have attached the file to this email [The file is attached to this email].